Read The Wishmakers by Tyler Whitesides Jessica Warrick Online

the-wishmakers

“Looking for a fantastically fast-paced and funny read? Your wish is granted!” —Chris Grabenstein, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Escape from Mr. Lemoncello’s Library Twelve-year-old Ace’s life is about to change in the most unexpected and magical ways—all because of a peanut butter jar.When he opens it, he inadvertently releases a genie named Ridge. Now a Wishmak“Looking for a fantastically fast-paced and funny read? Your wish is granted!” —Chris Grabenstein, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Escape from Mr. Lemoncello’s Library Twelve-year-old Ace’s life is about to change in the most unexpected and magical ways—all because of a peanut butter jar.When he opens it, he inadvertently releases a genie named Ridge. Now a Wishmaker, Ace is given a week to complete a seemingly impossible quest, and if he fails the world will end in the most tragic (but cuddly) way imaginable.Luckily, Ridge can help by granting Ace an unlimited number of wishes…as long as Ace is willing to accept the consequences. The bigger the wish, the greater the consequence. So, if Ace wants to avoid having pogo sticks for legs or his clothes turn invisible, he'll have to be careful what he wishes for and get a little creative.Perfect for fans of Dan Gutman and Max Brallier, this new middle grade series by Tyler Whitesides (author of the Janitors series) is a wonderful mix of unpredictable magic, zany humor, and daring adventure. You’ll wish it never ends!...

Title : The Wishmakers
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9780062568311
Format Type : Hardcover
Number of Pages : 336 Pages
Status : Available For Download
Last checked : 21 Minutes ago!

The Wishmakers Reviews

  • Ms. Yingling
    2019-05-02 03:49

    E ARC from Edelweiss PlusAce opens up a peanut butter jar without reading the warning label on the top... and unleashes a genie! Ridge is more than happy to grant wishes, but warns Ace that every wish requires some sort of sacrifice. The year's supply of peanut butter sandwiches comes at the cost of Ace wearing a smudge of peanut butter on his cheek for a year... and he gets all of the sandwiches at once! Even though they are individually bagged and will magically stay fresha a bit longer, this is not exactly what Ace meant. Ridge tells Ace that he must accept a quest or all of the cats and dogs in the world will turn into zombies. His quest is to find Thackary Anderthon and stop him from finding the Undiscovered Genie, who grants wishes that have no consequences. He can make wishes related to this quest to help him, but the price is usually high. (He does say no to replacing his legs with Pogo sticks-- permanently!) His quest becomes even more complicated when he meets fellow Wishmaker Tina and her genie Vale, and Tina's quest is to save a former Wishmaker... who happens to be Thackary Anderthone. When the quartet meet Thackery's son, Jathon, whose quest is also at cross purposes to the others, the trio start to wonder exactly how they can save the universe. They must travel all over on bizarre quests in order to stave off either the zombie pets, the constant raining of pianos, or the other terrible fates that could befall the world if they are not successful in figuring out what the universe requires of them.Strengths: This was very fast paced and just goofy enough to be a solid hit with middle grade readers. As an adult, I appreciated that our Wishmakers had to confront a lot of difficult choices about what they were willing to pay in order to get their wishes. The characters were all sympathetic and likable, the world building very solid, and the goofiness just right. Lots of funny details, like Ace having to eat cotton candy that would leave his tongue permanently green, sneezing large grapes, and Thackery talking like a pirate (which must be a consequence of a wish) come to a brilliant culmination where Ace recounts the effects that all of his consequence have on him (page 167 of E ARC) in a tour de force combination of tween grossness and humor. In fact, I am nominating that paragraph for the single best piece of writing since Jon Scieszka's Stuckey Pecan Log incident in Knucklehead.Weaknesses: Ace's background was touching, and I wanted to know more about what happened to him. What I really think: A little on the goofy side for my own personal tastes, but perfect for my readers!

  • Jen Naughton
    2019-04-25 20:41

    Here’s everything you need to know about genies:• Apparently, they live in jars not lamps.• They can grant unlimited wishes—except you have to be willing to pay the consequences.• If you ever unleash one, you’ve pretty much got seven days to save the world.... It’s a long story.Intrigued? I was. I even wrote a heartfelt plea for ARC approval as I saw the release date inching closer in time. The genies at Harper Collins heard my request and granted access. So, fun, fun, fun all around. Ace opens a peanut butter jar (we don't know if it is creamy or chunky) and a genie appears granting him a wish. Not knowing how this wish thing works he asks for a lifetime supply of peanut butter and jelly sandwiches and they all appear at once!There is a quest that must be completed to save the world and soon Ace and the genie (Ridge) are on their way. Along the way, we find out all the rules and trade-offs that go along with certain wishes and they are mostly hilarious.Please note that I received a free advance E ARC of this book from Edelweiss Plus without a review requirement or any influence regarding review content should I choose to post a review. Apart from that, I have no connection at all to either the author or the publisher of this book.Verdict- Buy 

  • Trisha Perry
    2019-04-24 21:23

    Twelve year old Ace's life changes in a instant the day he makes himself a PB &J sandwich for lunch but doesn't read the warning on  the lid, but who reads the lid of their peanut butter?  Now he is stuck with a genie, Ridge, who will grant him unlimited wishes for a week, sounds nice huh?  But there is a catch, there is always a catch.  Ace, must accept consequences for each wish, and he must save the world during this week of unlimited wishes.  This was such a fun and exciting book, quick to read and funny with a lot of quirky predicaments and non stop action, but it was a great story of friendship, understanding and diversity, and if you give the book a full read you will see it too.  

  • Suzanne
    2019-05-20 02:40

    Genies, wishes and peanut butter jars combine to great effect in this adventure tale for middle-graders. In this version of the make-a-wish with a genie story, there are consequences for every wish, the universe demands balance. And with that new caveat, our protagonist-in-a-hurry stumbles into a quest that is fast and engaging. The tale ends with a mild set-up for the next book in the series, but not in a disappointing fashion. This book is a delight to read. I received my copy from the publisher through edelweiss.

  • Christina Davis
    2019-05-13 21:31

    What a fun book for kids! I loved the premise, and how each wish comes with a consequence. Great message told in a super entertaining story. My 10 year old son recommended this book to me and I'm so glad I took his advice!

  • Rob
    2019-04-20 02:41

    Very fun book. Fast-paced and entertaining. Perfect for young readers. I love how it focuses on the idea that all choices have consequences, but not in a boring, preachy way...more of goofball, silly way. Oh, my son read this first, loved it, and insisted I read it next.